Rest Days and Mums on the Run

image

So, having  started on my training plan for Challenge 1, The Major Series, I already have a day off!! This seems daft, and, when you’ve made the decision to start something and are chomping at the bit to go at it, somewhat frustrating!!

However, I do understand the importance of rest days, it allows you to restock your fuel levels, build strength, reduce fatigue and risk of overuse injuries, avoid mental burnout and help your body to repair itself! Pretty busy for a ‘rest’ day!

The slight issue I have with this is that, as my passion for all things health, fitness and fundraising has consumed me, my rest day has been full of all the ‘stuff’ I should be doing when I’m not googling events or following leads on Twitter and Facebook, Mums on the Run UK you have a lot to answer for!! Washing, shopping, changing beds etc, we have had our first family day out since Harry’s accident, this included a quick game of crazy golf and I’ve walked the dogs…again, pretty busy!!

Since I have started all this madness it is reassuring to know that I am not the only ‘Nutter’, as my husband so kindly puts it, in an affectionate way, out there!! I came across a Facebook group, the aforementioned Mums on the Run UK (#MOTR)!! Without sounding too gushing it is AWESOME!! I have found it an endless source of information, motivation and inspiration, not to mention hopefully acquiring some dazzling compression socks in the very near future! It has just over 650 members, from all walks of life, ranging from c25k runners to those who are competing in Ironman competitions and Ultra-marathons, like I said, inspirational!! The group brings people together, I have already hooked up with a fellow #MOTR who lives in the very next village, less than half a mile away, amazing considering the size of the group!! I discovered Parkrunuk through this group and have had support and advice regarding my asthma (post for another day) There is a website http://www.mumsontherunuk.co.uk if you are interested, again offering information, competitions, social events and more! This has been invaluable to me as I’ve started on my venture…a BIG thank you ladies!!

So, although I have physically rested from training, mentally I have now planned a possible sprint Triathlon for 2015, something I mentioned to my husband at the start of all this and something I’m hoping he will join me in, I have been in conversation (virtually) with RunningStories.com as I am going to be a contributor to their website, if I ever sort my untechnological-self out, and have, whilst composing this post received an email from another company who I may blog for!! All this and potential ambassador applications for various women’s fitness groups….watch this space!!

L x

One thought on “Rest Days and Mums on the Run

Leave a Reply

