The reason I am doing this…

Ok, so, not many people can pitch for custom at a funeral but the day we said “Goodbye” to my Gran proved to be an opportunity to raise awareness of my Running to 40 Challenge! Not instigated by me I hasten to add!!

My Dad has obviously been spreading the word amongst his walking buddies and Fridays gathering was the first time I had seen them. After what I, and my family,  thought was a lovely service, well attended and the Vicar had spoken sincerely about my Gran and what a ‘character’ she was, we got together to celebrate her life. It was here that the subject of my lunacy was broached!

My Gran and my Mum and Dad are part of an incredibly strong church community, a community that Lynda, founder of The Joshua Tree, spoke to back in April. When I said this is who I am raising money I got a fantastic response and was offered space on their website…brilliant, my publicity campaign begins!

I am now the proud owner of a The Joshua Tree T-shirt, have got contact addresses for the Church, am going on the charity’s website and hopefully the local press!! I need to raise my game to raise some money!

The charity is heading for some really exciting times, times that I am proud to be part of in more ways than one, if my ‘running’ can help their incredibly worthy cause then even better!!

So, in amongst my training, work I now need to find time for publicity shoots…all I know is The Joshua Tree is more than worth the effort…

Image

 

2 thoughts on “The reason I am doing this…

Leave a Reply

